CURRENT | PREVIOUS | ARCHIVES | PROFILE | WEBSITE | GUESTS | NOTES | E-MAIL | DIARYLAND


-
2:45 p.m. Jan. 18, 2005
The current mood of burntautumn@accesscomm.ca at www.imood.com


I can't believe how quickly the weather changed. It went from freezing cold windchill temperature to being close to 0'C. So obviously that means that I am going to go outside and do something and I'm up for pretty much anything after not leaving the house for a whole week. I checked the mail and that was about it.

I could not work out at all because of my healing, then when it did get better I didn't want to work out so I ate a lot of chocolate and drank a lot of cherry coke. The only types of exercise that I like to do have to be either really relaxing like tai chi for those days when I need it gentle and meditative or something hardcore like kick-boxing for the days when I need to just feel tough. I can't stand any other kind of exercises like pilates or arobics.

I was always a feminine girly girl yet I was probably most like a boy. I was never lazy and I loved doing the tough guy sports and even some not to tough sports like fastball and handball. If it weren't for art I would most likely be trying to make a profession out of being an althete because I was good at it. I was into more all that stuff than my brothers were. I wanted to play hockey on a boys team but my dad came up with every excuse so I couldn't (I still don't know why) and I WAS NOT going to play ringette. It's like playing t-ball. I joined field hockey for a year and I felt kind of goofy playing it but I stuck with it because we got to play on the city football field for our games and we jogged at least a mile every practice and I liked all the running. I did that while I was kick-boxing as well. I loved kick-boxing so much. I was the only female for a long time and most of the other students weren't exactly students, they were all other trainers so it was like the ultimate school to go to.

From a young age my dad seemed happy that I took an interest in his own kind of things. He used to be a boxer and I was so amazed with it. I even spent my weekends watching kung-fu movies while I was taking martial arts off and on. He taught me how to shadow box when I was 13 and when I got good at that he started me on shadow boxing with weights. I used a rowing maching daily, weight trained and ran. I had some beefy shoulders in no time. He even bought me my own weight bench and everything. He had no problems paying for everything including the best equipment. I had some killer boxing gloves.

I think my older brother started to feel inferior because he kind of carried this tough guy attitude but I would tease him and say he was all talk. He was pretty much though, he was lazy and kind of a jerk. He of course joined my boxing school and had my dad buy him brand new equipment as well, even though he didn't even stay in it longer than a few months. He tried claiming all my work out equipment as well and tried everything to prove he was better. Heh, I really shouldn't have teased him. I would even compare our arms and his were pewny and I think that totally did it for him.

I miss sparring with all my old trainers though, it was such a challenge yet a great way to learn. I also just loved having that balance of being so committed to such a hard sport and then being a soft prissy girl during the day. I still love watching kung-fu movies to this day and I still have a thing for guys with tough guy bodies :)

Last fall I started taking meihuazhuang but quit after becoming pregnant. Morning sickness was an issue at first, then it was major lower back problems. After I had Mael it hurt to move and get out of bed. My back was so messed up. It's getting better and I plan to join back into meihuazhang this spring when they do it outdoors and when I have gotten myself into better shape after having a baby. Although I sense everyone is going to join when I do again, I went with a few people and they would only go the days I did and all quit when I did. I still find it odd they all did that.

Oh well, in any case I can't wait for spring.



I am living in a world that is asleep - Jul. 17, 2007
- - May. 07, 2006
Small update, very small. - Nov. 21, 2005
Hurry up and eat some of this - Aug. 31, 2005
- - Aug. 18, 2005