CURRENT | PREVIOUS | ARCHIVES | PROFILE | WEBSITE | GUESTS | NOTES | E-MAIL | DIARYLAND


To begin on the road
2:28 p.m. Aug. 10, 2003
The current mood of burntautumn@accesscomm.ca at www.imood.com


My weekends been so mellow.

Friday I was at my mom's and she ordered some really good pizza. We stayed there until it was well past the kid's bedtime. When we got home and put the kids to bed, Jesse got drunk and talked my ear off, which I didn't mind at all.

Saturday I drove my mom around because her new truck was in the shop. She was getting new tires and a new stereo system. We planned to go to a concert together next month, and I'm actually really looking forward to it. My dad dropped by yesterday as well. He drove 8 hours to come play golf with my brother, then he stopped by for an hour after his golf game and was on his way for another 9 hour drive to another city for another golf game scheduled with other people.

My sister and I thought it was a strange way to do things, but he said that's what he wants to do. He loves to drive and he loves to be away from home. I recommended him living in an RV after he retires.

My dad and my mom are the reason I refuse to travel anymore. I need a break from racking up the mileage on a vehicle. Growing up we went everywhere and would spend our holidays so far away from home. I was still going on long trips when I moved away from home, just up until my son turned one is when I stopped going anywhere.

Well today I have a chance to go on a short trip today. Everyone is telling me it's only an hour away and to drive an hour in my family is nothing, but to me, it's still sitting in a car. The drive could do me some good and I will be able to see all my aunts and cousins, so I think i'll just do it. I'll think of it as slowly working back to being the big experience road tripper I once was. I really do miss travelling.

Once my kids are old enough I think i'll start the regular travelling overseas and my first stop will be Scotland. That's where I have family that I have never met. My grandfather was there three years ago and stayed with family and while I don't want to do the exact same thing, I want to meet them. My great grandmother is still alive and I loved her stories and descriptions of the country. My grandfather has been working on our family tree for a few years now so I don't have any research to do. It's like it's all set up.

This probably still won't happen for a few years though, but once it does i'm sure i'll be going everywhere after that.

Anyway, I have lots to do today, I better go.





I am living in a world that is asleep - Jul. 17, 2007
- - May. 07, 2006
Small update, very small. - Nov. 21, 2005
Hurry up and eat some of this - Aug. 31, 2005
- - Aug. 18, 2005